Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

In praise of Chronicle Books January 17, 2007

Filed under: Books,Gifts,Shopping — lauravw @ 8:11 pm

In the last few weeks I’ve been particularly appreciative of Chronicle Books – they publish such interesting books by knowledgeable people, and what’s more is that they design them so nicely. For Christmas I was given Amy Butler’s In Stitches, and Elinor Klivans’ Cupcakes!, and I also started using a beautifully designed journal designed by Jill Bliss, which I bought sometime last year – the interior pages all have prints of native (to the US) flowers on them. I can see they also do notecards in the same print, so perhaps I will set up a wishlist on their site and remind myself of them another day. The site also mentions that Jill’s work has featured in ReadyMade and gone-but-not-forgotten Budget Living. Last but not least I bought, for about the price of a magazine (I’ve no idea why it was so cheap, it was the only copy), The Big Book of Vegetarian, which is excellent. The recipes in it are both unusual and easy to follow, and even though I’ve only had it for about a month it is a firm favourite.

Just spending a few minutes on the Chronicle Books website brings up all kinds of treasures that I suddenly find I can’t live without – it’s a good place to spend a few minutes while on lunchbreak at work, but perhaps I need to avoid it for a little while longer until pay day.

This book looks like it will be similar (yet different enough) to the Amy Butler book – Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing, out in February.

UPDATE: Amazon UK will be shipping the book from 30 April 2007, while if you live in the US it seems you’ll be able to get it much sooner – Amazon US says 1 March 2007. At least the delay for those of us on this side of the Atlantic means I can ask for it as a birthday present. I’m so looking forward to seeing the book!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.