Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Other people’s embroidery March 20, 2007

Filed under: Sewing — lauravw @ 9:55 pm

embroidery1sm.jpgWhen I was up in Leeds a couple of weeks ago I managed a brief visit to the Leeds Craft Centre and Design Gallery, where I saw this lovely piece by Darren Dearden. I’ve searched to see if he has a website but it’s not coming up if there is one, so I’ve not been able to find out much. (I think this may be about him, but can’t be certain.)

What I liked best were the flowers (dandelions? allium?) where the detail is made up of lots of little buttons. I have quite a hefty button collection that I inherited from my grandmother, and have always had plans for a few projects that would make use of some of them. I currently keep them in a pretty glass jar in the kitchen, and it would be nice to see them in use.

 

One Response to “Other people’s embroidery”

  1. Ali Says:

    That allium idea is spectacular. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.