Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Pockets April 9, 2008

Filed under: Sewing — lauravw @ 6:35 pm

I’ve been using my new Sew U book to make a skirt (almost done, pictures soon) and have found that the book, while it’s comprehensive in some areas, is lacking a few details in places. Like pockets – surely one doesn’t simply ‘attach’ pockets*? I can work out for myself reasonable ways to sew pockets on so that they look neat, but I suspect there are better ways out there, and so I’m really happy to see this video tutorial at Simple Sparrow. The end result is a very neat pocket, with all the fabric’s edges hidden away.

* perhaps there are more detailed pocket instructions in the book somewhere, but so far I’ve not been able to find them. Don’t let that put you off though – there is a lot of very useful information in there.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.