Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

One Yard Wonders: knitting needle case February 5, 2010

Filed under: Books,Sewing — lauravw @ 6:58 pm

Fabric is expensive, so I’m always pleased to discover projects that use a little fabric to great effect. One of my Christmas presents was ‘One yard wonders,’ a book filled with projects that use a yard of fabric or less. I’ve flicked through it a few times already, attaching sticky notes to the pages of projects I’m particularly keen to try out.

First up: a knitting needle case for Gemma*. I used some fabric I’d bought last year in my local curtain shop – it’s upholstery weight, with a very pretty floral print on it. (So pretty, in fact, that I’ve been wondering where to use it in the house – it would make a lovely roller blind.) The book’s instructions were easy enough to follow, and I enjoyed making the case – I might make one for myself at some point, as I have plenty of kntting needles that could do with a more glamourous home.

Elsewhere in the book are instructions for how to make things for grown-ups, children and pets – I’m hoping to try out a couple more of them over the coming months.

*I sent this to Gemma as part of the Seven Days of Specialness swap – more on that soon!

 

2 Responses to “One Yard Wonders: knitting needle case”

  1. [...] around her site helped me to find out that she’s a knitter and so I decided to make her a knitting needle case. I also made some lavender pillows, filled with lavender from my mum’s garden in [...]

  2. [...] look for a Spring day: the fabric is Babushka by Prestigious Textiles, and I also used it for the knitting needle case I made for Gemma. The lining is a different print from the same range – big stripes in the [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.