Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Brownies for breakfast* April 19, 2010

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 8:23 am

Today is my 32nd birthday. I have the day off work, and am pottering around happily. I’m on my own this morning, but this afternoon my parents are coming over and we’re planning to have afternoon tea at The Walk, an elegant little cafe hidden in an alleyway in Nottingham. (Please keep your fingers crossed that my dad doesn’t spot how pricey it is there!)

Most of my birthday celebrating was done yesterday, and I’ve opened a few presents each day – which is cheating a little as it made my birthday longer… Yesterday morning, after opening a few presents, we went for a walk along the canal – where we spotted a TURTLE. Not an everyday sighting in these parts as they are not a native species. I emailed the UK Nature Blog and they have quickly and very kindly given me a bit of information about turtles in the UK.

In the afternoon we baked brownies – I like to undercook them, so that you get plenty of gooey fudginess. We had them for pudding with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a generous drizzle of some rather fancy sauce: Whiskey Walnut Caramel Sauce, from a book called Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey (which is one of the prettiest baking books around, and has some very appealing recipes in it). We used pecans rather than walnuts, because the shops only had enormous bags of walnuts for sale and I don’t know what I’d use the rest for. It’s quite a boozy sauce, with plenty of bourbon in it. The book says it will mellow over the course of a few days, so I’m looking forward to trying some later to see how it tastes today (it was a bit rich for me yesterday).

The main thing I had planned for my birthday was a trip on the Big Wheel in Nottingham city centre. You can see it in this picture, which I took on my birthday last year. However, when I went into town on Friday the wheel had vanished, without leaving a trace. I should have checked the dates. We were near it the other day but the weather wasn’t very good, so it didn’t seem like the best time to go on it. Looking at that picture from last year, I don’t know why I didn’t go on it then… Oh well, I expect it will be back next year.

Finally, I’d like to thank Gemma for the sparkler she sent me earlier this year – I had saved it for a special occasion and so finally used it yesterday.

*And yes, I did have a brownie for breakfast today. But it was a little too early in the day to have the whiskey sauce with it.

 

5 Responses to “Brownies for breakfast*”

  1. TheMadHouse Says:

    Sounds like a great weekend and that book sounds divine

  2. Helen Says:

    Hi there! Hope you have a lovely day, I thought I’d chirp up as it’s my 32nd birthday today too!

    Have a great one x

  3. Ali Says:

    Happy birthday! Sparkler-worthy for sure.

  4. melissa Says:

    Happy birthday! Sounds like you had a fantabulous day (not bad on the weather front either!!).

  5. Liz Says:

    Belated birthday greetings! Those brownies look and sound so delish . Hope you enjoyed afternoon tea (and that your dad threw caution to the wind and ordered the champagne version!).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.