Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Deliciousness in a glass June 1, 2010

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 6:59 pm

Over the long weekend my parents came over for a meal, and I wanted to make them something yummy for pudding. Like me, they both have a very sweet tooth, and since this dessert was such a hit with them, I thought you might like the recipe.

It’s from a small and seemingly out of print book that I bought a few years ago – called Cheesecakes, Pavlovas and Trifles. It seems to be available on Amazon but the price is pretty high for what is more of a booklet than a book.

Vanilla and Caramel Parfait

  • 3oz butter
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup cream
  • 2 cups vanilla ice cream
  • 3 1/2 oz chocolate-coated malt balls, halved.

The ingredients above are exactly as stated in the book – I assumed that ‘cream’ meant double cream, so that’s what I used. And I didn’t stand there measuring out ice cream, either – just crammed as much as I could into my sundae glasses. Finally, life is too short to spend halving a bag of Malteasers – I just whacked them with a rolling pin instead. It says serves 4, but I think we stretched the sauce to six servings over two days.

To make the caramel sauce, you melt the butter in a pan. You then add the sugar and stir it over a low heat until it’s dissolved. Increase the heat and simmer gently for 3 minutes or so, until it turns golden. Then remove from the heat, letting it cool a bit before whisking in the cream.

To serve, put some of the crushed Malteasers in a sundae glass, then some ice cream, then some caramel sauce, and then some more crushed Malteasers.

My dad loved this pudding – he said it’s one of the best he’s ever eaten, and he’s a rather fussy eater. I felt very proud, and was glad there was enough sauce leftover for him to take home and put on ice cream the next day. I can’t wait to make this again!

 

4 Responses to “Deliciousness in a glass”

  1. Holy cow, that sounds good. I’m with you on halving malted milk balls. Thanks for sharing the recipe – I will have to try this!

  2. Yum! This is my kind of treat. Love your blog!

  3. Caramel, Maltesers, ice cream? Yes, please!

  4. Lucy Says:

    Yum! This sounds brilliant. I’m off out to buy malteasers!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.