Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Halloween paper chains October 21, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Halloween — lauravw @ 1:54 pm

Today I have been decorating our fireplace for Halloween, a job I love to do. I have two boxes of decorations: one for Christmas, and one for Halloween. They are both filled with things I have collected over the years, and I love to open them up each year and be reminded of what’s inside.

Some of my very favourite Halloween decorations are also the first ones I acquired: as a teenager I went on holiday with a friend and her family to the Outer Banks in North Carolina, where we visited a Christmas store. It was a big old house, and every room, except for one, was filled with Christmas decorations. The one room that wasn’t filled with snowmen and reindeer was instead filled with pumpkins and black cats. I loved it.

This year I have made new decorations – the paper chains that you can see in this picture. I’ve been doing an evening class in some graphics software, ostensibly for work reasons, but I found that these new-found skills can also be applied to Halloween decorations, which is a bonus. I tried to make the patterns I used modern and somewhat minimal (there’s a close-up shot of them here), and I’m really happy with how they turned out.

If you’d like to make some for your own home, download this PDF, and print out a few copies (ideally in colour, but I think black and white would look good too). All you need to do is neatly cut out the strips, then stick each one into a loop with tape or glue, making them into a chain as you go. For the chains you can see pictured on my fireplace, I used 5 A4 sheets of paper.

And if you do make some, I’d love to see a picture of the results!

I’ve had my eye on a few other Halloween projects that I’ve seen around the web. My favourite so far is this collection of yarn-wrapped pumpkins and gourds.

 

4 Responses to “Halloween paper chains”

  1. PinkCatJo Says:

    What a lovely scene. I too some Halloween decorations but I never get to use them as we’re either away or in the middle of a decorating project. This year they are packed away while the builders turn our home into a spooky mess. Hope you have a good time celebrating! x

  2. Ali Says:

    Your fireplace looks great! I’m planning on doing my halloween decorations this weekend. Such fun!

  3. Love it all! Our Halloween decs will only surface on the day itself. Along with the bowl of chocolatey treats!

  4. [...] projects planned: some lavender pillows, and another free paper chain pattern for you. Like the Halloween paper chains I made, it will be a free PDF that you can print out, cut up, and turn into paper chains for your [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.