Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Inside America’s Test Kitchen October 9, 2012

Filed under: Food,Travel — lauravw @ 1:37 pm

While we were in Boston, our friends Megan (Not Martha) and Scott flew over from Seattle to spend time with us, which was a real treat as it had been two years since we’d last seen them. Megan had been invited to tour the offices and studio of America’s Test Kitchen and Cook’s Illustrated while she was in Boston, and we all got to tag along.

They are not brands we’re familiar with in the UK, but there were some similarities to Good Housekeeping. The recipes are tested and tested and tested – I was interested to see how rigid their processes are for doing this. They produce everything on a domestic scale, using domestic ovens – because all the recipes are aimed at the home cook. I loved seeing a noticeboard by the kitchen featuring photos gathered from Flickr and Twitter, each showing people’s successes at following the recipes. One of their founding principles is that they test everything, from ingredients to tools, and then use whatever their tests reveal to be the best – steering very clear (with a few noted exceptions) of product placement and freebies.

The site they work from is not huge and not fancy – I was amazed at how much they produce from what seemed to be fairly limited surroundings. (It’s something I’m trying to keep in mind now I’m home and back at work!) They seem to get an awful lot done – magazines, books and TV programmes – we were lucky enough to be given copies of some of their newest books. One features a recipe for Boston cream pie, which I may try out over the winter to remind me of our holiday. I make Boston cream pie occasionally already, using a Nigella Lawson recipe, so I really should try a more authentic version. I may still buy the creme patissiere for the filling though – I’m not sure I can face the effort of making that.

Speaking of Nigella Lawson, has anyone else got the new book, Nigellissima? I pre-ordered a copy and so it was waiting for me when I got back from Boston. As a vegetarian reader, there’s not a great deal in it for me – I had expected more, since Italian food is so varied. There are certainly recipes in it I will be trying, but not as many as I’d hoped. And, reflecting the changes in Nigella herself over the past year, this is a much slimmer volume that her previous books.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.