Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Baking for Britain October 30, 2012

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 10:47 am

I don’t know if it’s the influence of the Great British Bake Off, or just simple greediness on my part, but I’ve been putting my baking abilities to the test this week. It’s all gone quite well, which has been encouraging. I’m not saying I’ll be auditioning to be in the next series or anything, just that things were edible.

First up was a Swiss roll, which I filled with Kahlua whipped cream. (Which reminds me: I need to buy more Kahlua, I add it to everything. I’m not sure if this is a problem.) This was the second time I’d made a Swiss roll, the first attempt being a couple of months ago. They both worked out well, but this second one didn’t crack when I rolled it up, so I think that makes it the winner. They were both delicious though. Unfortunately I think I had the camera on the wrong setting when I took pictures of it, as they all look very blurry. Or perhaps all that Kahlua starts to have an effect on you after a while? Either way, no photos to show you other than a quick Instagram snap.

And then at the weekend I decided to try the Gooey Chocolate Stack, from Nigella Lawson’s How to be a Domestic Goddess book. This involved making two things I’d never tried before: meringues, and creme patissiere. And they both worked! I did a bit of reading about the recipe online before getting started, and found the general consensus was that you should assemble it just before serving. This was a good tip, as by the second day, the leftovers still looked fine but the meringue in the middle had pretty much dissolved, leaving a chocolate mousse-like substance (not a bad thing, but I think the dish was more interesting when it was fresh and you could see all the layers).

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.