Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Sewing machines part 2 March 17, 2007

Filed under: Sewing — lauravw @ 9:17 pm

I’m continuing to look at sewing machines, and today went to John Lewis to have a look at a few models I’m interested in. Last week I Googled to try to find out who makes the John Lewis machines for them – they say John Lewis on them but I didn’t think it likely they had their own sewing machine factory. I found nothing online but asking quietly in store revealed they are made by Janome.

I think I now have it narrowed down to two models – the saleperson was very helpful and asked lots of pertinent questions about what I will and won’t be using the machine for, and that helped a lot. The two I’m looking at both cost the same – £169 – and she says they are essentially the same features, just made by different manufacturers. I’m going to return to the shop in a couple of weeks when I have more time and she says they can set both of them up for me so I can try them out – this is why John Lewis stores have such a good reputation.

They are the Janome 7021 and the Elna 2600. (For some reason the Elna machine is not listed on the John Lewis site, but they have it in store.) Now I know a bit more about what I want it’s much easier to compare prices of machines online – but I prefer the idea of buying from John lewis as I know they are good if a fault develops with a product. I’m hoping to decide what to do in the next couple of weeks, so I’ll write about it here in case it’s of help to anyone else.

 

2 Responses to “Sewing machines part 2”

  1. Vicoria Says:

    I have the Janome 1560 sewing machine, from John Lewis (£129). I have to admit I haven’t used it much, despite my good intentions, but I have found it adequate for my needs as a tentative beginner.

  2. lauravw Says:

    Thanks for your comment Victoria!


Leave a Reply

