Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Make your own April 29, 2007

Filed under: Sewing — lauravw @ 7:56 pm

Project one with the sewing machine went well: two cushion covers with zips, both of which look good. (I hope to sort out pictures soon but am busy at the moment and so a bit behind on things.)

I ordered a copy of Sew What! Skirts from Amazon and am really pleased with it. I wanted a book about how to make my own skirts, and this one had a lot of recommendations.  The cover makes it look a bit dated, but it’s a fairly recent book. While I haven’t made anything from it yet (it only arrived a few days ago!), from the pages of it that I have read, I’m feeling pretty confident about getting started on making an a-line skirt for myself. I like how the projects are not too strictly prescribed – it leaves a lot of room for your own imagination and knowledge of what would suit you – and the tone of the writing is very friendly, which is welcoming after last weekend, when I struggled with my Readers’ Digest sewing book (a great book, but full of words that are not yet in my vocabulary).

 

One Response to “Make your own”

  1. Ali Says:

    That one’s been on my wish list for a while. Perhaps seeing your completed skirt will convince me!


Leave a Reply

