Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Britpop June 15, 2007

Filed under: Radio and TV — lauravw @ 10:25 am

A few weeks ago it was the 30th anniversary of Star Wars, which made me feel very old because the 20th anniversary seems like only a short while ago, and I can clearly remember going to see each and every film (several times over in the case of Empire Strikes Back….)

Making me feel even older, today BBC 6 Music is marking the 10th anniversary what it’s calling the death of Britpop, those few short years when some amazing British music was released and celebrated (you can read about Britpop on Wikipedia). There are shows all day, most of which you can catch using the ‘listen again’ feature on the BBC website. Some of the featured music includes the Charlatans, Bluetones, Chemical Brothers, Radiohead, Daft Punk (yes, they’re French, but it was still part of the era), Spiritualised, Bentley Rhythm Ace, Menswear, Gene and of course Blur and Oasis – while from Wales it was a time of huge success for Manic Street Preachers, Super Furry Animals (who are under-rated) and Catatonia.

I was fortunate in that during the main Britpop years I was at university in Manchester, and so got to see a huge number of shows while there, including all the bands named above. It was a great time for music and a fun time for me – if you’re of the same vintage as me you’ll really enjoy listening to 6 Music today.

 

One Response to “Britpop”

  1. dottycookie Says:

    Oh that’s depressing – ten years already? I know I am turning innto my mother though – I tend to choose older music or pretty mainstream current stuff and Radio 1 just hurts my ears. My sixteen year old goth self would be appalled!


Leave a Reply

