Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Finding craft ideas for Brownies September 6, 2007

Filed under: Paper crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 8:22 pm

The new school year has started, and that means I’m spending my Tuesday evenings helping out at a local Brownie pack. We have a lot of hours to fill over the course of a term, and so I’m on the lookout for craft ideas – mostly simple tasks, and ones that don’t involve a lot of expensive tools. We do have a bit of money to spend on supplies, so things like felt and glitter are well within our reach.

On the list so far:

  • Mitten magnets, from Martha Stewart Living.
  • Brooches and hairclips covered in felt flowers and other designs made from felt (inspired by these ones Alicia sells, but ours will need to be very simple to make).
  • Jewellery making – I bought some cheap but attractive sets of beads for them to use, but I think I’ll have to return some because a lot of the beads are teeny tiny, and I’m not sure they are going to be feasible for the girls to work with.

At the end of the summer term, we gave the girls notebooks with both lined and plain pages. They decorated the outside of the books, and we asked them to keep a summer holiday diary – which means that this term we can have a session talking about where they went and what they saw. As I walked to Brownies this week, a car passed me, which contained a mother and some of the Brownies. One of them was smiling and waving her summer diary at me through the car window, which made me happy to see that she’d enjoyed using it.

 

Leave a Reply

