Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Nigella Express September 9, 2007

Filed under: Books,Food — lauravw @ 11:47 am

I was given a copy of Nigella Express this week (by my current boss – it’s a leaving present; I’m starting a new job soon), and I’ve been enjoying reading it this weekend. And I do mean reading – I can happily sit reading Nigella Lawson’s cookbooks, page by page.

The book has more to offer to carnivores than it does to vegetarians, but I’m still quite happy reading about how to roast a chicken or sear some tuna, even knowing that I will do neither of those things. And some of the recipes are just fantastic: there is a recipe for a custardy pudding made from croissants and bourbon, which she recommends serving as a meal. (I know that won’t win any awards for nutrition, but there are certainly days when that’s exactly the sort of thing you want to eat for dinner.) I’m definitely going to make the homemade instant pancake mix, and I am already looking forward to making the chocolate peanut butter fudge sundae – there is a photo of this in the book that is very tempting.

I was happy to see that there is a chapter on Mexican food – I’ve not read that far yet though, so I don’t know what’s in it.

 

2 Responses to “Nigella Express”

  1. Ali Says:

    I had a peek at it in WHSmiths yesterday. I feel an entry on my birthday list coming on…

  2. dottycookie Says:

    I’m waiting for the Book People to get it. It does look like another Nigella classic. I made her quick chocolate mousse when a friend came for lunch yesterday, and made her quantities for 2 portions stretch to 5 – it is incredibly rich, and really yummy.

    She does look very, very happy in her new series, and I know it’s none of our business, but it is good to see.


Leave a Reply

