Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Buttons September 23, 2007

Filed under: Crafts — lauravw @ 8:04 pm

I went shopping yesterday and saw a necklace in White Stuff that I really wanted to buy – but it’s £22.50, which I think is a bit of a swizz considering the materials it’s made from. (Although it really is VERY nice, and the colours are great, and…)

Anyway, I was fortunate a few years ago to be given my grandmother’s button collection – a jar of buttons collected during the 80+ years of her life, from various items of clothing and sewing/knitting projects for her and the family. I keep it in the kitchen in an old-fashioned glass jar that belonged to a more distant relative, and I have hatched a few plans over the years for projects involving the buttons – most of which I’ve never followed through on because it would be time-consuming to sew dozens of buttons to something.

Back to the White Stuff necklace: it looked so simple to make, with no sewing at all. There was some waxed cord threaded through a couple of the holes on each of the buttons. Not far from White Stuff there is a bead shop, so I set off for that and spent £0.60 on some bead cord. When I got home and chose some buttons from the jar, it took less than 10 minutes to make my own version of the necklace – and I like the idea of being able to switch the buttons around when I feel like trying out some new colours.

If you’re planning to make something like this I would suggest sticking to small to medium sized buttons – I tried a few larger ones and they distorted the shape of the thing.

 

2 Responses to “Buttons”

  1. Ali Says:

    You’re so right – that necklace was just crying out to be DIY’d. Bravo – yours looks cool.

  2. dottycookie Says:

    Good for you – yours looks just as good as theirs. £22.50 – is it made of buttons hand carved from precious rocks or something?!


Leave a Reply

