Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

A new skirt October 14, 2007

Filed under: Sewing — lauravw @ 3:29 pm

Eyelashes!Things seem to be keeping me away from here of late, but there have been a few crafty things in the works. I made a second skirt using the same pattern from Sew What Skirts, and I’m happy with the result. (The skirt is called East Meets West in the book.)

More Amy Butler fabric, this time with eyelashes all over it – I love this print. This time I used wider bias tape for the waistband, and that made it much easier to sew. Practise makes perfect: this time around, I’ve lined up the bits at the bottom a lot better. Again it has a band of denim at the bottom – which is heavier than the main fabric and so weights the skirt quite nicely.

I want to make more skirts, but this style both suits me and is quite economical with fabric, so I’m a bit reluctant to try another style out in case I’m not as happy with the result. I do have a little stash of fabric built up though, so perhaps I just need to pick out a new style from the book and go for it? I’m very keen on the Asian Dream pattern, which has pleats in it.

There are a couple more pictures of this skirt in my Flickr stream.

 

3 Responses to “A new skirt”

  1. Ali Says:

    It looks fantastic! I’ve seen a couple of skirts with contrasting hems recently and I love that look.

  2. dottycookie Says:

    I have that book but have yet to make anything out of it. Yours looks very gorgeous – that really is great fabric – did you buy it over here or did you have to order it?

  3. lauravw Says:

    I got the fabric from a US website called Z and S Fabrics – they sent it pretty quickly, and the whole process was painless. (The Amy Butler prints are here, filed under Rowan.)


Leave a Reply

