Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Autumn warmth October 23, 2007

Filed under: Books,Food — lauravw @ 7:27 pm

Oatmeal cookiesOne of my favourite cook books is the Little Red Barn Baking Book – it’s only a small book but it is filled with all kinds of goodies. Over the years I’ve made quite a few of the recipes, and always been happy with them. I remember being a little disappointed by one thing when I bought the book though: there is a chapter on brownies, but it does not have a recipe for classic chocolate brownies. Instead there are a few more exotic variations (raspberry and almond; cheesecake swirl) – I think the reason for this is that the book is a side project of a baked goods company called the Little Red Barn, and I suspect that if brownies were their best selling item (which is pretty much what the blurb says), they didn’t want to publish the recipes that had made them so successful. I can understand that, but it still leaves a big brownie shaped gap in the recipes. I’ve tried without success to find out whether the company is still in business – perhaps they are now trading under a different name? Anyway, my copy of the book is much loved and if you see one for sale anywhere, make sure to have a good look inside.

Last night I made a batch of oatmeal cookies – I’m not a cinnamon fan, so I switched that for some of the very fancy vanilla I treated myself to recently, and they are so yummy.

 

Leave a Reply

