Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Let them eat fudge December 20, 2007

Filed under: Christmas,Food — lauravw @ 8:32 pm

let it meltI have designated this Christmas as the one where I make chocolate fudge for all my nearest and dearest. I did a bit of digging and found various recipes, but I plumped for the easiest one because I don’t see the point of things being more complicated than they have to be, particularly at this time of year.

The recipe I used is from Greatest Ever Chocolate, and it’s simple:

  • 500g dark chocolate
  • 400g tin of condensed milk
  • 70g of butter
  • Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract

You heat the chocolate, butter and condensed milk in a pan, stirring it often. When it’s all melted you turn off the heat and beat in the vanilla. If you keep beating the fudge mixture for a good few minutes it will turn smooth and glossy.

Then you’re at a point when you can start adding toppings and flavourings. I plumped for crushed Maltesers for half of the batch, and chopped hazelnuts and dried cranberries in the other half. You simply mix these in and then put the fudge into a tin of sorts to set (I used a brownie pan). In the fridge it sets in an hour or two.

It hardly takes any time at all to make the fudge – the bit I found time-consuming was chopping it all up into chunks.

Once I’d managed that though, I put the fudge into the pretty gift bags that I got with the Chronicle Books Holiday Treats Kit gift set I bought earlier this year. The recipe says the fudge will keep for about a month in a cool dry place, which means this is a good gift to make, since you can have some on hand to give to your friends as you see them over the coming weeks.

I had plenty of ideas for mix-ins that I’ve not tried out yet, but I will hopefully try a couple of these out in the next batch:

  • Kahlua
  • Crushed up Crunchie bars (honeycomb covered in chocolate)
  • Chocolate chips/chunks
  • More vanilla
  • Melted white chocolate, swirled in to make marbled fudge
  • Orange oil – to make chocolate orange fudge

I think next time I will also use a mixture of milk and dark chocolate – I prefer milk chocolate, and think this would make a good combination.

 

Leave a Reply

