Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Christmas traditions December 22, 2007

Filed under: Christmas — lauravw @ 5:31 pm

We’re pretty much ready for Christmas now, with time to relax a bit and enjoy the traditions of the season. Over the years it’s been fun to see what others do and to pick up a few traditions along the way – this is what the season usually holds for me:

  • Christmas Day breakfast MUST be croissants, warm from the oven, and fresh orange juice. I think this comes from my mother, but I don’t know if she still does this every year.
  • There MUST be an advent calendar of sorts.
  • My parents always listen to the carols from Kings College, Cambridge on Christmas Eve, and I plan to do this too. You can see them being performed here or catch them on Radio 4 at 3pm on the 24th.
  • A couple of years ago we borrowed the tradition of opening a small gift on Christmas Eve, but I don’t remember who we borrowed it from.
  • Something my dad always used to do (but always used to deny doing) was to hide a £5 note in one of the Christmas crackers. When the cracker was pulled and the money discovered, he would feign surprise and say that it must have belonged to someone in the cracker factory. I often got to keep the £5.
  • When I lived with my parents, I would always have a long hot bath on Christmas Day so that I could try out the bath goodies I’d received as presents
  • In recent years, I’ve enjoyed reading David Sedaris’ Holidays on Ice each Christmas season.

And this year I want to add a new tradition: the I want a hippopotamus for Christmas song (via Dooce). Go have a listen, it will make you happy. Merry Christmas!

 

3 Responses to “Christmas traditions”

  1. Ali Says:

    Have just started the day by playing the Hippo song 4 times on the trot – my boys love it!

    Merry Christmas and thanks for the laugh!

  2. […] – no two families are the same are they? I just got time to sit down with the computer and spotted this post over at Busywork about their family traditions and it struck me that breakfast was actually a big one for Christmas […]

  3. […] 23, 2008 Filed under: Christmas — lauravw @ 12:09 pm Last year I mentioned some of the Christmas traditions that shape December for me, and I will be sticking with them this year. On Boxing Day my parents […]


Leave a Reply

