Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

What’s cooking January 9, 2008

Filed under: Books,Food — lauravw @ 7:09 pm

Thai satay noodlesOne of my new year’s resolutions was to add a few new recipes to my repertoire. And so last night I made stuffed peppers, using a recipe from one of the first cook books I ever owned: Good Housekeeping’s New Step by Step Cook Book.

It was pretty straightforward, and the end result was delicious, so this is one I’ll definitely add to the list of things to make again. You blanch the peppers in hot water for a couple of minutes, and then fill them with a risotto-like mixture. The risotto was onion, garlic and ginger (but we didn’t add ginger), mushrooms, stock, tomato puree (I had some sundried tomato puree, so I used that), soy sauce, and toasted pine nuts. I also put a bit of grated cheese on top of the stuffed peppers before baking them.

Over the weekend we made a Thai noodle dish (pictured above) from BBC Good Food’s 101 Veggie Dishes. Again this seemed to go pretty well – you make a satay sauce, and then mix that in with your stir-fried noodles and vegetables. When the whole dish is ready to serve, you top it with crushed dry-roasted peanuts. For next time, we’d chop the broccoli a bit smaller to help it cook more thoroughly, and use a LOT more peanuts for the topping, because the crunchy bits were the best part.

 

2 Responses to “What’s cooking”

  1. dottycookie Says:

    This is one of my intentions for this year too – to cook at least one new recipe each week. This week our new ones are going to be pork chops with mustard sauce (naughty one from Nigella Express) and linguine with lemon, garlic and thyme mushrooms from the same book.

  2. lauravw Says:

    I have the same linguine recipe on my list too! I really like that book – there are lots of things I want to eat in there.


Leave a Reply

