Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Tuesday Night Craft Club: table runners January 23, 2008

Filed under: Crafts,Sewing,Tuesday Night Craft Club — lauravw @ 7:41 pm

Table runnerAt this week’s Tuesday Night Craft Club I made another set of table runners. This time there was sewing involved, but it was still very easy. I got some black and white fabric at Ikea this weekend – it looks really good on our oak dining table, and fits in well with the overall colourscheme of the room.

Luckily the fabric’s width was ideal as the length of the runners – and I made them 45cm wide. This is a bit narrower than the ones I made from the oilcloth, and I think it gives them good proportions. (Of course, if I want to make the oilcloth ones narrower, all I have to do is get out the scissors and cut.)

It is such a quick and easy project to do, and yet the end result really makes you feel you’ve achieved something. Plus, I think these would make good gifts, if you knew what fabrics would suit the recipient’s home.

I’m so enjoying having a designated craft night: it means I know I’ve always got a few hours each week where I can get on with things. I’ve been reading a little more of Bend The Rules Sewing, and I think my next project may be to make baby bibs for the four (!)friends of mine who are currently expecting babies. One is due in about four days, so I don’t think I’ll have them ready in time for that one, but I guess that people don’t need bibs for newborns anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

