Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Tuesday night craft club: Kitty Tunnel February 19, 2008

Filed under: Crafts,Sewing,Tuesday Night Craft Club — lauravw @ 10:19 pm

Kitty tunnel. With fake kitty.I made a kitty tunnel! The fabric is from the Sole collection by Valori Wells,* and it’s lined with dark brown faux fur, which I got from John Lewis.

It was all pretty straightforward to make, although I wasn’t able to find faux fur as wide as the one specified in the book. The bolts I looked at were only around 30 inches across. This wasn’t a problem – the tunnel seems plenty big enough.

I should have used sturdier fabric for the outside of the tunnel – it’s floppy like a blanket. I don’t think that’s a disadvantage though, from a cat’s perspective.

After much effort making this I set it out for young Daisy to play with, and was suprised (and a little disappointed) to find that she’s not really interested. Cats are often contrary like that, but she shows so much enthusiasm for all her other toys (cardboard boxes! paper bags! things she has stolen from us!) that I hadn’t stopped to consider the tunnel might not impress her… Oh well – we’ll leave it lying around (at least it looks pretty) and I’m sure some day she’ll realise how spoiled she is to have a fur lined tunnel to hide in.

*This fabric was destined for my duvet cover project. I love it, but now that I’ve seen it with the other fabrics in real life I don’t think it’s the right one to use on this occasion. Which means I need to a) find something good to make from this one, and b) find something that will work with the fabrics I’ve already bought.

 

Leave a Reply

