Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Tuesday Night Craft Club: Invitations March 27, 2008

Filed under: Crafts,Food,Tuesday Night Craft Club — lauravw @ 9:21 am

InvitationsI turn 30 in a few weeks, and am planning a small party. So for this week’s craft club I made some invitations. I used some pretty patterned card, which I trimmed so that it would fit inside some blue envelopes I had. I printed out the details of the party and then attached those with eyelets to the cards. On the envelopes I stamped little chickens.

That leaves the catering to think about. There will be around a dozen people in total, coming to our house on a Saturday afternoon – for tea and birthday cake. This means I don’t have to do too much in the way of catering: I’m making myself a big chocolate birthday cake, and I think I’ll also do rice crispie treats and millionaire’s shortbread.

There will be several kinds of tea on offer, plus coffee and soft drinks. I was also wondering about making mint juleps – not that they would go particularly well with the food, but simply because I’ve never tried one and thought it might be fun. Most guests will be driving though, and so wouldn’t be able to have one – so perhaps I’ll make myself one for when everyone goes home.

I’m hoping the weather will be decent enough that we can play croquet and boules on the lawn, but I’m not going to count on that – especially given the Easter weekend wash-out we’ve just had.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesday Night Craft Club: Invitations”

  1. Suzi Says:

    What a fabulous way to celebrate,
    I hope you have a very happy Birthday!!
    🙂

  2. Vic Says:

    Ooooo yes, I made mars bar rice krispie cakes for the office for my birthday a couple of days ago. They were yummy!!! Recipe is on my blog if you’d like it.

  3. anna Says:

    Have a happy birthday! I love the idea of a designated craft evening. You are so smart. I’m going to have to follow in your footsteps.

  4. lauravw Says:

    Thanks everyone!


Leave a Reply

