Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Up to: radio edition May 13, 2008

Filed under: Up to — lauravw @ 12:22 pm

One of my birthday presents this year was a new digital radio. I have had a digital radio for a good few years now, and like to listen to it first thing in the morning and last thing at night. The new one has a sleep timer function, which means I can set it to turn itself automatically around about the time I expect to have fallen asleep. No more getting out of bed in the middle of the night to turn off the radio.

I’m a big fan of digital radio in general (there’s a lot of information on it here), but I hope someday someone invents a Tivo for radio – yes, you can use the BBC’s listen again feature to listen to radio programmes through the computer, but I would love to listen to radio programmes I like at a time that suits me without having to turn on the computer. Quite a few of the programmes I enjoy are on late or at weekends, when I don’t always manage to catch them, so this would really be useful.

If you’ve not got a digital radio you might not have listened to 6 Music, which is a shame – especially if you were born in the late 1970s and like indie music. Luckily you can get it online. The Gideon Coe show is my favourite, and I also enjoy Adam and Joe, and Bob Dylan’s theme time radio hour.

Saturday Live on Radio 4 is always interesting – where else could you hear stories about farmers doing tai chi in front of their cows in order to increase their milk output?

 

One Response to “Up to: radio edition”

  1. Jackie Says:

    I could not sew without my radio, listening to Radio 4 all day!


Leave a Reply

