Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Tuesday Night Craft Club: Bibs June 10, 2008

Filed under: Gifts,Sewing,Tuesday Night Craft Club — lauravw @ 8:01 pm

I have reached that age where my friends are having babies with increasing frequency, and so I was pleased to find a simple pattern in Bend the Rules Sewing for baby bibs. You need some pretty fabric, some cotton flannel, and little metal fasteners, but that’s all. They were really easy to make, and the budget-conscious side of me was pleased that each one only requires a small amount of fabric, so you can turn out a lot of bibs for very little money.

So far I’ve made nine, and given them away in sets of three. As you can see the fabrics I chose are green/yellow, and I’ve been relieved to see these colours be well received by my friends. (I had worried people would want blue for girls and pink for boys, but that’s not really my taste.)

Someone I showed these to made a good suggestion for a more advanced/complicated version that I think would work pretty well: putting a layer of something plasticky (she suggested parachute fabric, and I can only assume that’s something that can be bought online even if it does sound rather obscure!) so that any spills the baby makes don’t go through the fabric and onto the baby.

 

One Response to “Tuesday Night Craft Club: Bibs”

  1. bittycakes Says:

    I haven’t tried that pattern yet, but I was thinking I would try it with that vinyl-coated fabric that outdoor tablecloths are made from, if I can find a cool one.

    Yours look great!


Leave a Reply

