Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Martha’s visiting …or not June 25, 2008

Filed under: Crafts — lauravw @ 12:37 pm

I was interested to read last week on the Martha Stewart blog (as an aside, do you think she writes it herself?) that she was due to visit the UK this week. The UK authorities have subsequently said she’s not allowed in, which seems to be because of the small matter of the five months she spent in the clink, and I for one am a little disappointed. I had visions of running into her in Marks and Spencers, or perhaps seeing her and her entourage drive past me tomorrow while I make a very quick visit to London.

Anyway, I checked her blog again today to see if there was any news on the situation. There’s not been an update as such, but I was surprised to see that many of the comments people have left have been so negative towards us Brits. Essentially there seems to be a view that because she’s wealthy and does nice things, she should be allowed to bypass the rules. I don’t know enough about the rules to understand whether they are fair and sensible ones, but I don’t like the assumption that people of wealth get to play by a different set of rules to the rest of us.

The Telegraph reportsĀ that she’s travelled to Ireland instead, and has cancelled her London engagements.

 

5 Responses to “Martha’s visiting …or not”

  1. jen Says:

    I think her sister writes it for her. Yeah, the comments are pretty bad, I love Martha, but if the UK has rules on not allowing people with criminal records in, that is their right.

  2. Ali Says:

    Hey, if she can’t make her appointments, I’d be happy to step in on her behalf.

    I read on the comments that Harrods is going to be selling her line?? Is this true? How soon can I get there?

  3. lauravw Says:

    Jen – I’m fascinated to hear her sister might be involved in writing her blog, thanks for the tip off.
    Ali – I was lucky enough to get in a trip to Macy’s on my recent holiday to Seattle, and to see all of her homewares. The furniture is too grand for my taste, and also some of the bedding, but the kitchenware is fantastic. There are some lovely colours, and it wasn’t overly expensive. It’s just a shame it was all too bulky to fit in my suitcase… I’m not sure Harrods will be selling it for such a reasonable price, but you never know…

  4. Debbie Bourque Says:

    I live in the U.S. and I have mixed feelings about Martha…I thought it was funny and certainly within the U.K.’s rights. I’m not keen on double standards and despite what people want, she DOES have a record, DID spend time in jail and LIED to authorities when questioned. She has all this money and then pulls this stuff to save what a few thousand? Don’t listen to the negative…they are in the minority in my humble opinion.

  5. […] may recall that, exactly one year ago, Martha tried to visit the UK but her plans were changed when it became clear that she would be denied entry due […]


Leave a Reply

