Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Britain from above August 9, 2008

Filed under: Radio and TV — lauravw @ 1:22 pm

I’m really looking forward to this new BBC series, which starts tomorrow night. They have put a huge amount of material on their website, and you can watch plenty of clips of the country – I’ve been enjoying this one about us all waking up and going off to work/milk the cows, depending on where we live.

I like the approach they’ve taken for some aspects of the show – it looks like they will be focusing on showing us some of the things that we take for granted, like electricity and cash from bank machines, and how they are kept running. There’s one clip that shows the work done to ensure there’s enough electricity for us all to switch on our kettles after our favourite TV shows finish – I had no idea that we are the only country in the world where they have to plan for when we’ll want to make cups of tea. (In case you’re wondering, they get electricity in from France at the crucial cup-of-tea-making moments.)

There’s also a selection of photos of British towns and landmarks, taken from the air – I like the London by night ones.

 

3 Responses to “Britain from above”

  1. Ribs Says:

    If only I could get the Beeb over here in Finland – that sounds like a cool programme indeed. I knew about the tea-making thing, although I didn’t realise that a) we’re the only nation that does that and b) that the French bail us out!

    Hopefully there’ll be a repeat sometime in the future, when I’m back in Blighty. In the meantime, I’ll check out the clips on the website. Thanks for posting about this.

  2. Ribs Says:

    Dratt the Beeb! I reckon they’ve put IP restrictions on their site, to deter us overseas-types. *IMs friendly geeks for assistance* 🙂

  3. lauravw Says:

    Oh no! I hope you find a way to watch the clips – I’m sure they will be available somewhere online before long.


Leave a Reply

