Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Blackberries and sheep September 28, 2008

Filed under: Food,Tuesday Night Craft Club — lauravw @ 3:50 pm

These fairy cakes were somewhat of an experiment: I needed a gift for a relative who can eat eggs, but not cow’s milk or butter. Browsing through 101 Cakes and Bakes I found a recipe for blackberry fairy cakes that contained oil rather than butter, and also used yogurt. With some trepidation I used sheep’s yogurt instead of the usual cows’ milk yogurt, and it was a great relief when the finished product came out of the oven looking good and tasting yummy. Both the icing and the cakes have a little orange zest in them, which is a good flavour to have alongside the blackberries.

(I had been a little nervous of using the sheep’s yogurt because, although I’ve had only limited exposure to it, I’ve found the milk and yogurt from goats still smells overwhelmingly of the goat from whence it came… Happily these cakes don’t have any unwanted scents or tastes!)

 

3 Responses to “Blackberries and sheep”

  1. Holly Says:

    It’s great to see alternative for those of us who have allergies in the family. They look lovely and I’m sure were gobbled up.

  2. Liz Says:

    Oh no, I’m craving blackberry cakes now!

  3. lauravw Says:

    Thanks guys! I’ve had confirmation from the recipents now that they were enjoyed. I wish I still had a few left to nibble on…!


Leave a Reply

