Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Halloween preparations October 5, 2008

Filed under: Halloween — lauravw @ 2:12 pm

I am so excited that October is here. I’ve made a big pile of all my Martha Stewart Living magazines from Octobers past, and when I’ve had a spare half an hour I’ve been flicking through for ideas.

I was certain that I had enough decorations for Halloween, but when I saw this little tree for sale the other day, I had to have it. Even though that meant lugging the oversized box it was sold in all the way home on the bus. It was a bit of a struggle but totally worth it. (If you’re keen to have one of your own, you’ll find them at John Lewis.)

I’ve also been giving some thought to what my pumpkin should look like this year. Last year’s effort was one that I feel raised our game somewhat: we made a Space Invader themed pumpkin in celebration of the Space Invader art we’d stumbled across over the course of the year (details of what we saw).  The year before that was Bruce the Spider, and before that a slightly more traditional face, albeit on a white pumpkin rather than an orange one.

And now I finally have a plan for the 2008 pumpkin(s): I’m going floral. Not something you usually see at Halloween, but bear with me. I’m planning for one medium-sized pumpkin, one small one, and two tiny ones – all with abstract floral patterns. I want to get started right away now that I’ve come up with a plan, but it will have to wait until much later in the month. So for now it’s back to the Martha magazines…

 

2 Responses to “Halloween preparations”

  1. Liz Says:

    Love your Hallowe’en tealight tree (and gutted that John Lewis have sold out of them!).

  2. lauravw Says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t find one – I was in our nearest John Lewis yesterday and noticed they had all disappeared. I hope you find something equally spooky to put on your mantelpiece.


Leave a Reply

