Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Biodegradable plastics October 20, 2008

Filed under: Shopping — lauravw @ 12:19 pm

An incident involving the cat meant that our toothbrush mug and its handle were separated a few months ago. The jagged edge left on the mug has caused me to cut my finger pretty much every single time I’ve cleaned the mug since then… and so finally I bought a new one.

I wanted the replacement to be somewhat less breakable (the cat has not become any less accident-prone in the intervening months), but I’ve been trying not to fill our home with plastic. In John Lewis I was very happy to find these EcoGen products – plastic containers that will eventually biodegrade once they are left in the right conditions (here’s the science part). I have to admit I don’t really understand what it is that stops it from biodegrading in the meantime, but the website says so and since I have plenty of other things to worry about, I’ve decided to simply believe them. The products have also been profiled on Apartment Therapy.

 

Leave a Reply

