Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Nutella! January 11, 2009

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 4:20 pm

Happy new year! Those of you who made new year resolutions involving weight loss might want to skip this post…

Still here? Nutella! Isn’t it marvellous? I have a big jar of the stuff in the kitchen cupboards, and a spare one tucked away just in case it runs out – I think my mother operates a similar system so my love of Nutella is possibly genetic.

Anyway, if you too are a fan, you may find this recipe for Nutella brownies inspiring. And then you may also find whole new ways to eat Nutella in this post on Ask Metafilter. Since reading that post I have tried Nutella on my morning porridge, and it was pretty good. (But mostly, I just eat a teaspoonful straight from the jar. As a child, I used to eat it spread on digestive biscuits, which is possibly a little more grown-up than the way I eat it now…)

In one of my cookbooks there is a brief history of Nutella – it’s in Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey, which, aside from the fact that it is filled with yummy recipes, is one of the most beautifully designed books I own. It tells the story of how Nutella came to be invented in Italy just after World War 2:

“Ferrero’s confection became a part of everyday life. It became so popular, neighbourhood food stores started to keep a big jar on the counter and school children would run in with pieces of toasted bread and buy a ‘smear’ for a few lire as an afternoon snack.”

 

3 Responses to “Nutella!”

  1. Ali Says:

    Did you know, there’s a World Nutella Day coming up?
    http://www.nutelladay.com/
    I kid you not.

  2. Liz Says:

    I love all things chocolatey but must admit I’ve yet to buy my first jar of Nutella.

  3. lauravw Says:

    Ali, I did not know about World Nutella Day, but it has restored some of my faith in humans. I will have two teaspoonsful of Nutella to mark the occasion!

    Liz, what better way to mark World Nutella Day than to try some? I hope you like it. You can pop the rest of the jar in the post to me if you don’t!


Leave a Reply

