Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Homemade cereal January 25, 2009

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 4:24 pm

Vanilla pecan granolaOne of my most useful cookbooks is the Big Book of Vegetarian, by Kathy Farrell-Kingsley – the only thing that could be improved about it would be the addition of photographs of the recipes. Today I made the spiced vanilla granola, and as a result the whole house smells like a bakery now.

It’s an easy recipe to make, involving oats, pecans, a lot of sugar (I always knew cereals had plenty of sugar in, but when you make your own and see just how much, you’ll be astonished) and vanilla and nutmeg, amongst other things. We now have a big jar of it sitting on the counter – I am looking forward to breakfast time…

 

2 Responses to “Homemade cereal”

  1. Liz Says:

    I’ve been meaning to have a go at making some granola (I quite fancied one of Nigella’s recipes). After reading this post, I think I might have to actually do it.

  2. […] Saturday I had another go at the granola I made a couple of years ago (has it really been that long?). It was a day of heavy rain showers, and so staying in the kitchen […]


Leave a comment