Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Sanctuary Spa February 9, 2009

Filed under: Cosmetics,Shopping — lauravw @ 9:10 pm

sanctuaryOver the past few months I have been sampling more than my fair share of Sanctuary Spa toiletries – they keep having them on special offer in my local branch of Boots (the one I have to pass every day, on my way to and from work, and so often end up going in…). I’ve tried out both the bodycare and the facial skincare ranges, and there are some products I’ve liked more than others.

My absolute favourite is anything from the Mestizo range – sadly it only consists of three products at the moment, but I’m hoping they will do more because it smells lovely… I’m also very fond of the facewash, and managed to buy around half a dozen of these last year when Boots had a £5 off deal on – each one costs around £6, so it meant I could snap them up for £1 and feel very frugal. More recently I’ve tried the toner, which is OK (I’m not sure how you differentiate between bottles of toner, but it smells OK and makes your face feel fresh. As with the facewash, I got this for about £1 – I don’t think I’d be willing to pay £6 for it), and this weekend I bought eye gel (refreshing, but quite expensive) and face lotion (not sure about this yet – it doesn’t absorb into the skin very well, but looks OK once I’ve put my makeup on. I am reserving judgement for a week or two).

My mum has had problems with her nails spitting, and has found the nail oil to help with that issue – plus she likes the hand cream that goes with it. And another thing I like is the Mande Lular body scrub, which works well and comes in a generous sized pot.

Anyway, I’m telling you all this because it’s all on 3-for-2 at Boots at the moment  – so if you’re in the UK it’s something you can take advantage of. When I went in on Saturday I got a good deal – I also had a few coupons that got me extra loyalty points, and various other loyalty card wheezes that made me feel like I was some sort of bargain shopper extraordinaire. For example, the skincare range is not labelled as being part of the offer in my local branch, but it is on the website, and when I took my purchases to the till, the woman who served me was surprised to see it register the discount.

But then I found out that I had only touched the tip of the iceberg when it comes to my bargain hunting in Boots – there’s a whole community of customers who refer to their bargain-hunting ways as Bootsing! I found this out because it occurred to me that the deals I had found on Saturday were so good that there might be information on other such deals on the forums at the Money Saving Expert website – I had no idea just what level of information there would be, nor the amount of committment and ingenuity that people show when it comes to getting a discount on face cream. Here’s a sample post, which starts out by detailing this month’s offers – it has been viewed more than a quarter of a million times, and there are over three thousand comments on it. Clearly no-one in their right mind is going to read all three thousand comments just to find a few discounts on toiletries, but the post at the beginning was enough to get started. I popped in on my way home tonight and got a fancy bottle of conditioner, priced at £4.69, for £2.69 (using the £2 off haircare voucher they’ve been giving away with purchases recently) – but then the clever(ish) part was that I also got £1.50 worth of loyalty card points for it as well – because I put my card in the little loyalty card machine when I arrived and printed out an extra coupon for that. And then I got given ANOTHER £2 off haircare voucher, so I can do the whole thing all over again next time I’m passing. It’s a good job I have plenty of space to store my growing collection of fancy bodywashes and haircare products…

 

One Response to “Sanctuary Spa”

  1. Liz Says:

    It’s been a while since I shopped in Boots so I’ll have to pop in to see their offers. Shame about over-cooking the biscuits. I’ve made them again and they seemed a bit chewier than the first batch.


Leave a Reply

