Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Kirstie’s Homemade Home April 18, 2009

Filed under: Radio and TV — lauravw @ 9:19 pm

Did anyone else watch Kirstie’s Homemade Home this week? If I’m honest, it was something I looked forward to for several days before it was broadcast. However, I ended up being out that evening and so it wasn’t until today that I managed to sit and watch it.

I enjoyed the show, but was left feeling a little disappointed by the way there was only enough time to skim the surface of each of the featured crafts… And I would have loved to know more about the planning of the kitchen space. I also want to know more about the house itself: did Kirstie buy it, or did the production company buy it? Will she live in it, or are we simply being led to believe she will live there? I found answers to some of these questions on the Channel 4 website: it is a holiday home, which Kirstie and her family will use (will they really?) and which you can rent out. (There’s also an article in The Telegraph about her buying the house.)

I was amazed by the exterior of her parents’ house – having seen clips of this earlier in the week, I thought it was a National Trust property rather than someone’s family home. I was also interested to see Cath Kidston’s kitchen – I would have expected Agas and Welsh dressers and antique pine, but it was all white glossiness. (I was particularly keen on the apple green splashback that took the place of tiles above her worktops.)

But there was one clip in the show that grated on me: when she was driving round in her enormous gas-guzzling car, looking for skips outside people’s houses so that she could find some free treasure that people were throwing out, she explained that the reason she liked to pick up old and unwanted items (like the mirror she found in one skip) was so that no more of the world’s resources would have to be used to make new objects. She seemed completely unaware that a statement like that sounds ridiculous when the person making it is behind the wheel of a shiny, fuel-inefficient car.

Having said all that, I will keep watching though…

 

2 Responses to “Kirstie’s Homemade Home”

  1. Liz Says:

    I know what you mean. I came across it quite by accident and was a bit confused. As you say, there was lots of skimming and, I think, a fair bit of magic wand waving as Kirstie’s wreck of a kitchen was transformed into something that just needed some handmade glasses, cushions and a little pot!

  2. Phil Says:

    I saw the bathroom one. I found it like a make over/ DIY show for people with lots of money. where she just burshed over comments like “i got this shelf for £200” or £55 door handels. None of it seemed that applicable if you don;t have much time or money.
    Having said all of that the end results did look good and the intention behind using local crafts people is something we could all do more of.


Leave a Reply

