Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Getting your house in order April 26, 2009

Filed under: Interiors — lauravw @ 12:19 pm

I’ve been learning all sorts of easy and useful things from the This Young House blog. If you’ve not visited the site before, it’s a blog by a young couple in Virginia who have been doing up a house they bought three years ago. Be warned that their enthusiasm, energy and talent is likely to make you feel a little inadequate – but many of the things they suggest on their blog are simple to follow and can be achieved quickly.

Recently they’ve published a couple of posts that are chock-full of ideas to borrow: they wrote about the ways they’ve organised their house to make it work for them. Obviously we’re all different so what suits one person might be inconvenient for another, but already we have bought a fancy box to leave by our front door, where we now put our shoes as soon as we come into the house (as suggested in this post). (We’ve recently had new carpets and so a strict no shoes policy is in operation at our place – you can see the new shoe box being put to good use by our cat Daisy.)

Even the feeding area for their pet dog is stylish and neat – and very practical (I’m hoping to make something like this for Daisy, but I think it’ll have to wait until I’m next near an Ikea – I had a look in Habitat and learned from that that there is a limit to how much I will spend on china bowls for a cat…). I read plenty of interiors and design blogs, and so many of them have beautiful rooms on, but the posts on This Young House seem to manage to be incredibly practical at the same time, which is important to me. Havaing said that, UK readers like me who live in small homes will be aware that being practical and organised looks a lot easier when you have a large and spacious home – be sure to go on the house tour to see what I mean.

 

2 Responses to “Getting your house in order”

  1. Ali Says:

    Wish I hadn’t gone there – now I feel lazy and disorganized. Perhaps I’ll just blame it on the kids….

  2. Liz Says:

    I popped over there and oh my, what an organised and beautifully presented abode they have. I wouldn’t dream of giving anyone a house tour here. Well, unless I badged it House of Horrors Tour!


Leave a Reply

