Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Tea towel cushion cover May 24, 2009

Filed under: Sewing — lauravw @ 2:10 pm

cushionMy mum went to Stratford on Avon the other day to see A Winter’s Tale, and came home with a gift for me: a very fancy tea towel with the names of Shakespeare’s plays on. I find typography fascinating (I know, I’m a geek) and the letters were really beautifully designed. It was clearly far too good to ever be used for drying dishes. I could also tell that mum was very taken with it, and so soon hatched a plan to sew it into a cushion cover and give it back to her.

I already had some plain brown fabric to use for the back, and so it was a nice quick project, She was thrilled with it! She had bought a second tea towel for herself, and has asked me to make her another cushion cover with that one so that she’ll have a pair. My parents have quite bright-coloured furniture at their house, so these will look really good in their living room.

 

Leave a Reply

