Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Snowhome September 4, 2009

Filed under: Interiors,Shopping — lauravw @ 10:06 am

Wall birdsAmongst the cobbled streets and tea shops of York there is a modern treasure: Snowhome. This is a small interiors shop which I got to visit last week during my little holiday in York. I’ve been before, but this time I was accompanied by my mother, who was in her element.

There were lots of things in the shop that I liked, and I was both surprised and pleased that mum chose to buy herself a set of wall transfers. She chose a silhouette of birds on branches, and it’s destined to go on a wall in a bedroom at my parents’ house. The owner of the shop was very helpful and explained a little about the process of installing the transfers – and also told us that there is a small practice transfer included in each kit (in this case, a little bird) which I might be allowed to use at my place.

In return for his helpful advice, mum was able to tell the owner that she’d seen an article about the Queen Mother’s home, where there is a wall mounted wooden stag head on display – an odd scenario since you’d expect the walls of a home like that to be covered in the real (ie dead) thing. He seemed interested to know about it: as he is one of the few suppliers of this product, this means it’s possible that something from his little shop could have ended up living in a royal residence.

 

Leave a Reply

