Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

It’s officially (almost) Halloween October 3, 2009

Filed under: Halloween — lauravw @ 1:49 pm

I’m back after a holiday in the US – two weeks on a coach tour around the Deep South. We spent time in Georgia and South Carolina, and it was somewhat mixed. We saw some lovely places, we saw some dull places, and so on. I’ll write about the lovely places soon – and you can see my first batch of photos on Flickr (lots more to come). It was far too hot and humid for me over there, but as I type, it’s a cold and very windy day here so I’m hiding indoors.

Halloween treeAnd now it’s dawning on me that it’s October, which means it’s just a few short weeks until Halloween (four weeks today, to be exact). I was hoping to buy some pumpkins and gourds at the farmers’ market this morning, but I got the date wrong and there is no farmers’ market today, so that was the end of that. But I can tell you that I saw in John Lewis yesterday that they have a great range of Halloween goodies. I got my little Halloween tree there last year, and they seemed to sell out of them very quickly – so you may like to know that there is a 2009 version for sale now. In the shop they also had little tealight holders of haunted houses and orange glass, but I can’t find those online – they were inexpensive and very sweet though, so it’s worth a look in the shop if you get chance.

While we were in America I managed to get a copy of the Martha Stewart Halloween special magazine, which I’ve enjoyed flicking through – and there’s an extensive range of Halloween ideas on the Martha website already. One thing in the magazine that really caught my attention is the fact that Martha mentions she is throwing a Halloween Ball this year, which sounds fascinating. I assume my invitation is in the mail…

I also found a Halloween edition of the American version of Country Living (which is a very different magazine to its UK counterpart). Again, lots of nice ideas, but unfortunately not many of them seem to have made it to the website.

Other Halloween things to look at:

 

One Response to “It’s officially (almost) Halloween”

  1. Liz Says:

    There you are! Thanks for all the Halloween links. I’m aiming to push the boat out this year. Looking forward to hearing more about your trip .


Leave a Reply

