Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

A visit to the Hummingbird Bakery November 28, 2009

Filed under: Books,Food — lauravw @ 2:59 pm

Not literally, though: instead I was happy to find a copy of the book in my local library. Until I sat down to read it, I had assumed it was an American bakery, but they are in fact based in London (which means there’s a good chance I could get to visit them one of these days). The inspiration is definitely American though – and the whole branding of the place really captures the right atmosphere.

I’ve tried out a couple of the recipes and they turned out well – unfortunately for me someone else reserved the book at the library and so I didn’t get to keep it for as long as I would have liked. But I made a few notes on how to make their vanilla cupcakes, and hopefully the book will be back on the shelves soon so that I can take another look.

Pictured here are some of the vanilla cupcakes I made – topped with vanilla frosting, also from the book. I loved how these tasted – I switched to using proper vanilla in my baking a few years ago now and would never go back to the cheap stuff.

And on a slightly related note, Habitat are selling glass hummingbirds as Christmas ornaments this year (not on their website though). I have resisted the temptation to buy some so far – I bought a lot of new baubles from Habitat last year and so really don’t need any more… (Although I’m not sure that ‘need’ is ever a valid reason to buy baubles.)

 

One Response to “A visit to the Hummingbird Bakery”

  1. […] I’ve mentioned previously, when I bake nowadays I use a proper vanilla extract, and it makes a world of difference. There are other sources of vanilla that I’ve had my eye […]


Leave a Reply

