Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Christmas at Chatsworth House December 5, 2009

Filed under: Christmas,Places to go — lauravw @ 5:28 pm

Yesterday I visited Chatsworth House in Derbyshire with my parents – my mum is celebrating a birthday with a zero on the end this weekend, and so wanted to go on a special outing. I had no idea what to expect, and I’ve been to seasonal events at stately homes before, only to be disappointed by the poor effort that had been put in. Not so with Chatsworth – it was AMAZING.

So many rooms had been decorated for the season, and all with the most elegant taste. There were lights everywhere (lots of candles – most of which were not real though, I guess due to the fire risk), and the whole place seemed to glow. I’m not someone that usually gets swept up in enthusiasm for Christmas decorations, but I had never seen anything quite like this before. If you get chance to visit, do go – it’s wonderful. It’s on until the 23rd of December 2009 – and I’m told that each year they decorate the house differently, so we’re already hoping to go back next December.

There are some good little cafes and restaurants on site, and if you get lucky with the weather you can have a walk around the grounds. I’ve put some of my pictures from the day on Flickr.

 

One Response to “Christmas at Chatsworth House”

  1. […] went three years ago, at the same time of year – they really go to town on their Christmas decorations, and the […]


Leave a Reply

