Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Brown paper packages tied up with string December 20, 2009

Filed under: Christmas — lauravw @ 11:47 am

The Christmas presents are all wrapped up, and under the tree… no wait – we don’t have a tree: they are wrapped up and sitting in a box upstairs, so that the cat doesn’t untie all the ribbons when we’re not looking. But at least they are wrapped…

For this year’s wrapping, I kept it both low budget and environmentally friendly (I love how those two things go together). I’ve used brown paper on all the parcels (which is also great because if you run out, it’s very easy to buy more of it without having to go into the city).

Tied around each of the parcels is some black papery twine I bought earlier in the year (I knew it would come in handy some day!). I made labels from red and green card, and then attached each of those to the parcels with a little sticker. The stickers are my favourite part: they are copies of Christmassy postage stamps from around the world. There are some really pretty ones – here are a few of my favourites. I don’t remember where I bought them from – they have been amongst my craft supplies for a good few years – but I suspect it was somewhere like Hobbycraft or WHSmiths – nowhere fancy. If I see some more I’m going to buy another set.

And as for Christmas music, “Christmas Wrapping” by the Waitresses is my favourite Christmas record. There’s a little video of it on You Tube, accompanied by a film of Christmas lights on a house going on and off in time with the music. It amused me, anyway!

 

Leave a Reply

