Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Winter white January 8, 2010

Filed under: Nature and wildlife — lauravw @ 11:07 am

All week it’s been the same story: snow everywhere. I didn’t realise just how thoroughly the snow had covered the whole of Britain until I saw this Nasa photo on the BBC website. (Visit the BBC website for a much larger version of this amazing photograph – and you might also spot that, over to the left, Ireland still looks green.)

Even before this week, it felt like we’d had our share of snow this winter. I have been going everywhere in my wellies, and I’ve seen children being taken to school on their sledges (that was while the schools were still open, many are now closed).

The weather has brought unusual visitors to our garden (fieldfares and redwings), and we’ve been doing our very best to try to keep the birds fed – I’ve had to keep ordering more bird food. If you have a garden, please try to put a bit of food out for the birds – the RSPB have some good advice on helping Britain’s birds through this cold snap.

Wherever you are, I hope you’re keeping warm!

 

6 Responses to “Winter white”

  1. MsDerious Says:

    It’s been crazy snow here. I’m just not used to it in my little corner of Buckinghamshire.

    I’m in a bit of a bind with feeding the birds. There are a lot of cats in our street, so the birds don’t really trust coming in. I’ve put some bread and nuts on the porch roof, but they aren’t coming in yet. I guess its a case of keep trying.

  2. lauravw Says:

    It’s so difficult with cats, isn’t it? Just five minutes ago I had to chase one out of our garden. I love cats, but don’t want them anywhere near our garden birds. It sounds like putting things on your porch roof is a really good idea!

  3. Caroline Says:

    hi Laura its awful at the moment as we have a cat who loves to be outdoors. We’ve been keeping her in so we can feed the birds (just for this bad spell), we put food on top of the garden shed but she will climb up there and eat it given the opportunity! MsDerious you are right it is important to keep trying though. I’m in Dublin and if that photo were taken again Ireland would be just like the UK by -we’ve been having fairly steady falls all week. Schools have been told to close til next Thursday at the earliest. I do feel so sorry for the birds we’ve had all sorts in the garden they’re so desperate the poor things..

  4. Liz Says:

    We’ve been putting food out but have seen fewer birds than usual. Can’t really blame the cat as he’s refusing to go out in such deep snow.

  5. […] there’s anything that would suit me. (I would do this in person if it weren’t for the big freeze of 2010.) I’ve not spotted much so far, which is no bad thing, but the odd thing here and there has […]

  6. […] an odd year it’s been in the UK. We began the year with a landscape that was entirely white, from head to toe. And now, there’s that pesky giant cloud of invisible volcanic ash that hovers over our […]


Leave a Reply

