Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Sewing in 2010 January 10, 2010

Filed under: Books,Crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 12:11 pm

What with the snow and an injured foot (woe is me!) I’ve not been getting out much so far this year. But this means I have had time to leaf through the sewing books I was given for Christmas, marking the pages of the things I’d most like to attempt.

One project in particular called out to be tackled first, because the book it featured in (Sew! by Cath Kidston) also contained a pocket with all the necessary supplies: fabric, buttons and a little label. And the fabric had been precut into the necessary shapes, making it very easy to get started. I’ve not quite finished the bag yet (I had to stop sewing due to my afore-mentioned injured foot), but I’ve not got much left to do – and it really does look like the bag in the photo on the front cover. I’ve already got plans to make a few more of these using my own fabrics, and there are patterns in the book for a few other bags, including a similar one which is lined. One step in the instructions did not work for me: you have to make a little loop to attach to the front in place of a button hole. The book has you make a very narrow tube, which you are then supposed to turn inside out. I found this to be impossible, and it soon reached a point where I had to throw that bit of fabric away. I found another fabric in my collected that was vaguely similar in terms of colours, and used that to make an alternative version (no turning inside out required). Pictures to follow, once I’ve completed it!

As well as books, I got two sewing patterns for Christmas: Amy Butler’s Liverpool shirt dress, which I plan to make once I find the right fabric, and Anna Maria Horner’s study hall skirt – which I’ve already ordered some fabric for. I’ve chosen a print that features both orange and brown, colours I love and that I think also suit my colouring. The main fabric is Meadowsweet Splashy Rose Pumpkin, and for the contrasting bits I’ll be using Meadowsweet Henna Garden Brown, both by Sandi Henderson. I’m looking forward to getting started on this skirt once the fabrics arrive – though with all the snow they may take a while.

 

2 Responses to “Sewing in 2010”

  1. Liz Says:

    That fabric is gorgeous. I wish I could make clothes for myself (I’ve tried but the results were not good) and hope you’ll post photographs of your skirt and dress. Oh, and the bag, too.

  2. […] Filed under: Books, Crafts, Sewing — lauravw @ 12:34 pm I mentioned a few weeks back that I had started work on the Cath Kidston bag featured in her Sew! book. Since then the unfinished bag has been sitting […]


Leave a Reply

