Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Could you sew ALL your clothes? January 15, 2010

Filed under: Fashion,Sewing — lauravw @ 9:06 am

Now that the new year is here, I have been window-shopping on my favourite clothes websites to see what’s new and if there’s anything that would suit me. (I would do this in person if it weren’t for the big freeze of 2010.) I’ve not spotted much so far, which is no bad thing, but the odd thing here and there has caught my eye.

But then I stumbled across Mena’s new project, Sew Weekly:

“By the end of 2010, I hope to have a closet filled only with clothes that I have sewn myself (with a few exceptions).”

WOW! My favourite so far is this pretty green dress, and it’s interesting to read about how she’s sourcing vintage fabrics and patterns. I’m not sure this would work as well in the UK (outside of larger cities like London, at any rate), but I suppose I do find the odd bit of fabric or a handful of pretty buttons in the charity shops every now and again.

 

4 Responses to “Could you sew ALL your clothes?”

  1. Liz Says:

    To answer your question, definitely not. But my aunt was a very accomplished dressmaker. When I was a teenager, I’d show her magazine pictures of clothes I coveted (which were usually only avaiable to buy in London) and she’d produce something identical. Dresses, trousers, jackets, even coats (ooh , I remember a long velvet fully lined double breasted coat which was gorgeous). Sadly, she doesn’t sew at all now.

  2. lauravw Says:

    That’s amazing – what a talent she must have.

  3. Ali Says:

    I liked that same White Stuff jumper (but grey’s not really my colour). I don’t have the skills to make all my own clothes, but the thing I admire most in her project is the level of self-awareness she has about what will suit her.

  4. lauravw Says:

    I find that interesting too – and she has a sort of vintage look about her, don’t you think? I mean that if the photos were in black and white, you’d believe they were old pictures, rather than a modern person in a black and white photo. I’m really looking forward to seeing what else she makes.


Leave a Reply

