Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Sundaes on Wednesday January 29, 2010

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 2:12 pm

Before we set out for the ballet on Wednesday night, we ate sundaes. I think the sundae is a perfectly formed pudding: cold vanilla ice cream and hot chocolate fudge sauce, with perhaps some cream on top, maybe chopped nuts and a cherry. The first time I can really remember having them is at this diner on the Gulf of Mexico in Florida. I was there on holiday with my parents, and we went there for dinner most evenings. I’m pleased to see they still have sundaes on the menu today. I think I must have been about 14 years old when we visited the Gulf of Mexico, and I can still remember the Gulf Drive Cafe pretty clearly – it’s right by the water, and the food was really good.

Here in England, it’s not often that I spot sundaes on the menu anywhere – there is a restaurant near us that does an upmarket version with pistachio ice cream and melted Toblerone, but in general sundaes are under-rated over here! Not by Nigella Lawson though: there is a recipe in Nigella Express for a chocolate peanut butter fudge sundae (and the recipe is online if you don’t have the book). I made the recipe on Wednesday and we all enjoyed it – as you can see by this empty sundae glass!

 

One Response to “Sundaes on Wednesday”

  1. Liz Says:

    We used to visit an ice cream parlour in town when I was a child where they did amazing sundaes. The place was decorated like a jungle, complete with plastic parrots. Of course, it’s no longer there and the property is now a jewellers cum pawnshop!


Leave a Reply

