Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Making a Cath Kidston bag February 8, 2010

Filed under: Books,Crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 12:34 pm

I mentioned a few weeks back that I had started work on the Cath Kidston bag featured in her Sew! book. Since then the unfinished bag has been sitting forlornly by my sewing machine, because I’d reach a point I was unsure about: buttonholes. I’d never sewed a buttonhole before, and was daunted by the prospect. I fished out the instruction book for my sewing machine, and did a trial run on some scraps of fabric. And it wasn’t so hard after all! Not something I would describe as straightforward, because it was a little bit fiddly, but it certainly was possible. Once I’d got the hang of it I was able to put the finishing touches to the bag. I’m pleased with how it turned out, because to my eyes it looks exactly like the one on the front of the book.

And inside the book, there are a few other patterns I want to try out. One seems to be for a bag I already own a shop-bought version of. It’s a really useful bag, with pockets inside and out, and I’m quite surprised they’ve shared the pattern for it since it must be a big seller in their shops. (Speaking of which, I’ve just been looking at the website and now have seen all sorts of other bags I like.)

 

One Response to “Making a Cath Kidston bag”

  1. […] pattern comes from Cath Kidston’s Sew book – I was really happy with how my first bag from this book turned out, and was keen to try another one. I think that’s the sign of a good sewing book: […]


Leave a Reply

