Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Keeping up appearances February 17, 2010

Filed under: Domestic matters — lauravw @ 12:43 pm

The domestically-minded amongst you may enjoy, as I did, reading Hannah Betts’ article in Tuesday’s Times. She spent a day in John Lewis, being taught how to clean, mend and generally care for her clothes.

“My flat has gone beyond the point of looking as if I have been burgled and now resembles the lodgings of a truculent Shetland pony: all discarded drinking receptacles and strewn bedding.”

“A household of my size (er, one) should be undertaking three washes a week: a dust mite and sweat-busting 60C cycle for towels and bed linen, a coloureds wash at 40C, and a delicate cycle at 30C. …Those who merely chuck everything into a quick cycle ā€” guilty as charged ā€” are missing a trick.”

I really do chuck everything in the quick cycle (doesn’t everyone?) – in my defence, we bought our washing machine second-hand, and it did not come with instructions. And on the rare occasions where I’ve tried the machine’s other settings, it makes such a racket that I’m surprised local dogs don’t start howling.

 

5 Responses to “Keeping up appearances”

  1. Amy Says:

    Of course everyone uses the quick wash, it’s fab! I do sort my washing into colours, and do the odd hotter wash for towels/sheets, but I’m very lax with my washing. My delicates were due for a hand wash this weekend, and I found things there that hadn’t been worn since Christmas! Very bad girl! I also get out of ironing by putting creases INTO things…now the other half does it all šŸ˜€

  2. lauravw Says:

    Ah, hand wash only clothes are another matter entirely! I don’t chuck those in the washer, I just let them linger in the laundry basket until I feel guilty enough to wash them…

  3. melissa Says:

    Another hand raised for the quick wash! But in our denfence, any other setting on our (otherwise fab) washing machine takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r. Honestly, we did the sheets on the 90deg wash last weekend and I timed it – 2.5hrs! I shudder to think how many showers we could’ve taken with that quantity of water…

  4. Liz Says:

    I’ve been persuaded to use the eco cycle (whatever that is) on our machine but I still prefer a nice hot wash for towels and bedding. As for hand washing……what’s that again??

  5. lazylol Says:

    I always use the quick cycle – maybe I will think twice now šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

