Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Liberty desktop wallpaper February 19, 2010

Filed under: Interiors,Shopping — lauravw @ 6:40 pm

You know about this already I’m sure, but there are free Liberty-print desktop wallpapers available to download on the Target website. (Via decor8 and pretty much every other interiors blog I read.)

I find the idea of Liberty collaborating with Target bizarre. Part of Liberty’s whole brand is the way it is because it’s out of reach to most of us, so to see a whole line of pretty things for sale at affordable prices in Target is a very big change indeed. I can’t imagine them collaborating with a UK-based store that sells things most people can afford – it would be like them going into partnership with Next or Sainsbury’s.

Would it reduce the appeal of Liberty fabrics and other goodies to me if they became affordable – cheap, even? I don’t know. But I do know that I wish I lived near to a branch of Target. Sadly the Atlantic ocean separates us, but some of the collection will be available at Liberty in London, and I have a visit planned there for next month (fingers crossed it will have arrived by then).

 

One Response to “Liberty desktop wallpaper”

  1. Ali Says:

    I felt the same sense of ‘sell out’ when Orla Kiely collaborated with Target. And an urge to fly across the Atlantic for a spending spree!


Leave a Reply

