Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Making a second Cath Kidston bag March 9, 2010

Filed under: Crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 7:42 pm

Spring is definitely starting to spring: there are crocuses out in the park (and a few in our garden), and the birds are singing. We’ve even had some sunshine. I’ve been making myself a new handbag and it’s the perfect look for a Spring day: the fabric is Babushka by Prestigious Textiles, and I also used it for the knitting needle case I made for Gemma. The lining is a different print from the same range – big stripes in the same colours as the florals (you can see it on this page). I really like Prestigious Textiles and have used a few of their prints over the years – we have a bright and cheery roller blind on our landing that I made from one of their prints.

The pattern comes from Cath Kidston’s Sew book – I was really happy with how my first bag from this book turned out, and was keen to try another one. I think that’s the sign of a good sewing book: you want to jump in and start making things immediately. The instructions are brief (not that that’s a bad thing) and I have a feeling sometimes things in the book are the wrong way round – this could be just me, but I felt there were times in the book where it said to do one thing when it meant the opposite. Still, if you’ve got your wits about you, you might fare better than me. You can see a picture of my completed bag here.

There are other patterns in there that I want to try – one involves using a magnetic bag closure thingy, something I’ve never used before. I’ve bought one and will see how I get on with it.

That same bag also has canvas/webbing handles, and you’re advised to use a stronger needle on your sewing machine if you’re working with that weight of fabric – again this is something that’s new to me but I suppose it’s time I tried to broaden my sewing abilities. Already this year I’ve learned how to do buttonholes (as evidenced in this photo!), so I feel I’m making progress.

 

3 Responses to “Making a second Cath Kidston bag”

  1. Liz Says:

    Gorgeous fabric, lovely bag, nice buttonhole.

  2. Amy Says:

    Looks good! I agree about the instructions though – a girl in my sewing class did the bag that came with the book, and our sewing teacher did do things in a slightly different order. I suppose the finished object is all the same!

  3. PinkCat Says:

    Lovely fabric. I’m sure the bag will make you smile every time you use it during the spring and summer! x


Leave a Reply

