Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Making your own dress patterns March 23, 2010

Filed under: Books,Crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 1:08 pm

After reading Flossie Teacakes’s praise for Cal Patch’s Design it Yourself Clothes, I decided to treat myself to a copy. It arrived just before our visitors, and so I’d only had time for a peek at it until now.

As Florence outlines in her post, there’s a lot to take in. I’m keen to think more about the clothes I can make, and I think that, rather than jumping ahead to tops and dresses, I will work on better and fancier skirts. I’ve made five skirts over the last couple of years, and I’ve learned a little from each of them. I’d like to start embellishing things – as mentioned before, I’ve found it tricky to find attractive dressmaking fabrics, and so I’m wondering if working with a plain fabric would be a good way to proceed. If I can find some nice, fairly heavy plain material, I could then embellish it with smaller pieces of patterned fabrics. That’s the plan, anyway… I need to start sketching out some ideas, but I have not been gifted with the ability to draw, and so that step is harder than it sounds.

 

One Response to “Making your own dress patterns”

  1. Ali Says:

    Good dressmaking fabrics are hard to come by over here aren’t they? I would like to make more of my own clothes, but the fear of them looking bad after spending time and money on them is a big hurdle to get over.


Leave a Reply

